EKTA travel (Schengen) and the Schengen visa insurance requirement
Read August 31, 2026: the Offer states all four medical covers and a USD 50,000 START limit with a USD 3,000 per-event sublimit; Schengen-wide validity and full-stay duration are not stated — territory is a zone chosen at purchase.
Where Policy Wording of Voluntary Medical Expense Insurance for Travelers Outside Their Country of Permanent Residence states each Article 15 requirement
States most — see notes
Read August 31, 2026: the Offer states all four medical covers and a USD 50,000 START limit with a USD 3,000 per-event sublimit; Schengen-wide validity and full-stay duration are not stated — territory is a zone chosen at purchase.
Policy Wording of Voluntary Medical Expense Insurance for Travelers Outside Their Country of Permanent Residence · version The 34-page PDF carries two dates: 'Date of Publication: May 31, 2026' (p. 6) and a Schedule-of-Benefits disclaimer citing 'the Policy Wording published December 12, 2025' (p. 5). Read as published August 31, 2026. · checked on
| Requirement | What the policy document states | Where it says it |
|---|---|---|
| Art. 15(1) Urgent medical attention | “Organization and payment of emergency medical care services on-site, conducting primary diagnostic procedures, providing necessary medical care and medicine to stabilize the Insured Person's condition” | § 6.4.2, under 'Under the START Insurance Program', p. 14 |
| Art. 15(1) Emergency hospital treatment | “Organization and payment for inpatient treatment, including doctor consultations, diagnostics, treatment, urgent surgery, medication, stay in standard wards” | § 6.4.4, p. 15 — the same clause pays 'only until the Insured Person's health condition stabilizes' or discharge/evacuation |
| Art. 15(1) Repatriation for medical reasons | “transportation and medical support of an Insured Person who requires inpatient treatment abroad, to the nearest medical facility of their permanent residence” | § 6.4.8, p. 15 — 'Medical evacuation of the Insured Person will only take place upon the Insurer's written agreement.' |
| Art. 15(1) Repatriation in the event of death | “Transportation services for the deceased Insured Person's body (repatriation) to their previous place of residence” | § 6.4.7, p. 15 — capped 'up to 5% (five percent) of the sum insured', USD 2,500 on START |
| Art. 15(3) Valid throughout all Schengen states | not found in the document we checked | — |
| Art. 15(3) Entire stay · minimum €30,000 (stated: €50,000) | Amount: “START — Reimbursement Limit (USD) — 50 000” | Amount: § 5.1 program table, p. 13, row 'START', column 'Reimbursement Limit (USD)' (cells joined with dashes); per-event sublimit of USD 3,000 in § 5.2, p. 13. All amounts in the document are USD; no EUR amount appears. |
Deductible, refunds and certificate delivery
- Excess / deductible
The § 5.1 table (p. 13) sets a general deductible of 25% for START and 0% for GOLD and MAX+. What the 25% applies to is not stated there; the § 3.27 definition (p. 10) calls a deductible 'a portion of the loss that the Insurer does not cover' yet allows it 'as a specific amount or a percentage of the sum insured'. From age 60 an age table overrides program limit and deductible, from USD 10,000/10% at 60-65 down to USD 2,000/80% over 100 (§ 5.6, p. 13). Without a return ticket at the insured event, the deductible is 250 USD and liability drops to 1% of the sum insured (§ 9.6, p. 31). All read August 31, 2026.
- Refund if the visa is refused
No visa-refusal refund term. The separate Refund and Cancellation Policy PDF ('Last Updated: August 2026', read August 31, 2026) contains no visa-refusal clause: 100% refund only on written notice within 14 days of purchase and before the Policy Effective Date or scheduled Departure Date; outside that window 40% of the premium is deducted plus a pro-rata 'time on risk' deduction; a filed or announced claim forfeits the refund; 10-45 days to the original payment method. The Wording's § 4.12 matches: early termination at the Policyholder's request deducts 40% 'to cover non-recoverable underwriting, administrative, and platform technology costs'. A paid add-on (§ 6.13) reimburses 'the official visa fee paid to the embassy in the event of visa refusal or cancellation' against an official embassy letter — the embassy fee, not the premium.
source: Refund and Cancellation Policy PDF, ektatraveling.com/files/refund_and_cancellation_policy.pdf — first verified for /refunds-if-visa-refused the same day; Policy Wording § 4.12, p. 12 and § 6.13, p. 21 — all read 2026-08-31
- Certificate delivery
EKTA's Schengen page, read August 31, 2026, states delivery 'within 60 seconds' twice: 'You will receive an insurance policy to your e-mail within 60 seconds' (How to buy) and 'The travel policy will be sent to your e-mail in electronic form within 60 seconds' (FAQ). The Wording § 2.8 (p. 7): 'The policy will be sent to the Policyholder's email address'. We have not bought a policy; delivery speed is the provider's claim, not our measurement.
- Notes
Row reads the START program, the base tariff of the single Offer that governs all three programs (START 50 000 / GOLD 150 000 / MAX+ 500 000 USD, deductibles 25%/0%/0%, § 5.1 table, p. 13); material GOLD/MAX+ differences are flagged where they occur. Risk carrier: IC Auras Insurance LLC, Boulevard de Coalancanthe, Mutsamudu, autonomous island of Anjouan, Union of Comoros, license L16330/AI, 'authorized and regulated by the Anjouan Offshore Finance Authority' (§ 1.3.1, p. 6); § 1.9 makes the same company the platform operator and 'sole technology provider, underwriter, and Merchant of Record'. The contract is governed by Anjouan law with binding arbitration seated in Mutsamudu and a class-action waiver (§ 11, p. 34); § 1.6 claims the benefits satisfy 'the minimum criteria established by EU Council Decision 2004/17/EC' — the pre-2010 instrument, not Regulation (EC) No 810/2009, where Article 15 sits — and states the Insurer 'does not voluntarily submit to the regulatory oversight, consumer protection regimes, or jurisdiction of the European Union'. Territory: § 4.9 (p. 11) defines it as the country or zone printed in the Policy; the § 4.9.1 Europe list names 28 of the 29 Schengen states — Spain is absent — while § 4.9.2 Worldwide covers 'all countries of the world'; § 4.10 excepts Belarus, the Russian Federation, conflict areas and US 'Level 4: Do Not Travel' territories. Duration: the term is 'the number of days stated in the Policy' (§ 4.4); a Policy bought 'for a period less than the duration of their trip' is a ground to refuse payment (§ 7.6.14, p. 25); bought outside the country of permanent residence, cover starts only 'on the fourth (4th) calendar day following the Policy Purchase Date' (§ 4.6, p. 11). Money: every limit is USD; each single covered event is capped at USD 3,000 per person (§ 5.2), costs over 1,000 USD require the Insurer's prior written agreement (§ 8.4, p. 28), accident events are capped at 10% and repatriation of remains at 5% of the sum insured (§ 6.2.2, § 6.4.7). On START the Insurer 'reserves the right to refuse insurance payments if the Insured is intoxicated' (§ 6.8, p. 19) and COVID-19 treatment is capped at 1,000 USD (§ 6.4.9). All read August 31, 2026.
Checked on
Questions about EKTA travel (Schengen)
Does the EKTA policy wording state the EUR 30,000 Schengen minimum?
No EUR amount appears anywhere in the wording read August 31, 2026. Limits are USD: the § 5.1 program table (p. 13) shows a 50 000 reimbursement limit for START, and § 5.2 caps 'any single covered event' at 'a sublimit of USD 3,000 per occurrence'.
Is the EKTA policy valid in every Schengen state?
The wording never states Schengen-wide validity. Territory is 'a separate country or within one of the following geographic zones' chosen at purchase (§ 4.9, p. 11); the printed Europe list omits Spain, and Worldwide is 'all countries of the world' (read August 31, 2026).
Does EKTA's standard START plan carry a deductible?
Yes. The § 5.1 table (p. 13) shows a 25% general deductible for START and 0% for GOLD and MAX+; from age 60 an age table overrides both limit and deductible, from USD 10,000/10% at 60-65 to USD 2,000/80% over 100 (§ 5.6, read August 31, 2026).
Who is the insurer behind an EKTA travel certificate?
IC Auras Insurance LLC, headquartered in Mutsamudu on the autonomous island of Anjouan, Union of Comoros, license L16330/AI, 'authorized and regulated by the Anjouan Offshore Finance Authority' (§ 1.3.1, p. 6). Disputes go to binding arbitration seated in Mutsamudu under Anjouan law (§ 11, read August 31, 2026).